Awake

img_4724

“I hope that all the misery in the country and the world in general will deepen your hope for the kingdom of God, will strengthen your eschatological perspective, will make you more interested in the last book of the Bible, will make you more critical toward psychology and political sciences, will make you simple of mind and heart, make you pray more and love more and make your heart and mind open toward Him who is the Lord of life and who called us to transcend all human endeavors.” -Henri Nouwen

This has not been my default lately. It actually hasn’t been happening at all. In fact, circumstances of the world have hardened my heart and darkened my spirit to a point where I am sounding like a stranger. Why would the Lord allow such a coma of character? So He could shake me awake and stir my soul. “Awake, O sleeper, and rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you” (Ephesians 5:14). He is light, and if I want light, I need Him. Not every once in a while when I’m weary, afraid, overwhelmed, or confused, but every second, every hour, every day. I need His strength, His peace, His comfort, His decrees.

“Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm”
(Ephesians 6:11-13).

We can’t win without Him, friends. I’m done being fooled.

I’m catching on
And I’m not fond
Of who I’ve been

It’s more than doubt
I’m calling you out
We are not friends

Oblivious to your deceit
I drank deeply of a poison discreet
And my eyes began to close

You whispered suggestions
And overwhelming questions
But now I know

Disguised as assitance
You created resistance
To joy, peace, and capacity to feel

I would have let you win
But He stepped in
And crushed you with His bruised heel

(Genesis 3:14-15)

 

Leave a Reply

