For Freedom

DSC00469

It is for freedom that Christ set me free
But I keep choosing captivity
Finding comfort in confinement and familiar fences
Claiming liberation under false pretenses

I can’t cope with this consuming fright
That cages and controls my thoughts in spite
Of the covenant that confirms I’m cared for and called
Fully accepted and loved, though thoroughly flawed

Frustration fights fruition and I’m floundering in my flaws
Instead of abounding in the fullness that doesn’t come from the law
Clamoring for composure, clarity and calm
But You’ve carved my name into Your punctured palm

Leave a Reply

