Where my treasure is, there my heart will be

cropped-img_4469.jpg

Where my treasure is, there my heart will be
You are opening my eyes and I’m starting to see
All that is not eternal is eternally useless
Everything on earth should be held with looseness

I want to store up treasure that’s real
Nothing thieves can break in and steal
For the thief comes to kill and destroy
And the enemy whispers to steal my joy

But You have come that we may have life
Yet this does not exempt us from strife
For we have to willingly suffer with You
In order that we may be glorified too

You say, “Vengeance is mine, and I will repay”
But I let my anger get in the way
And I’m tired of being deceived by the lies
That You are exasperated by all of my cries

All of my anxiety comes from not trusting You
When You’ve never once given me reason not to
Instead of a partaker of Your promise, I’m a prisoner of panic
You offer me peace and I keep choosing manic

But if I set my eyes on things above
And open my heart to Your relentless love
Peace that surpasses understanding is what I would find
As You transform me by the renewal of my mind

Matthew 6:19-21, John 10:10, Romans 8:17, Romans 12:19-21, Proverbs 3:5-8, Colossians 3:2, Philippians 4:7, Romans 12:2

Leave a Reply

